I was about to write something mean..

For the last couple of weeks I have been trying to find some kind of serious use of twitter (again). Most of it is just a load of crap tbh.. ppl trying to selfpromote, cryptic tags from educational conferences no one gives a shit about and journalists tryin’ to prove to the world there still alive dispite the concept of print slowly dying.

You can’t really trust anyone, and nobody cares douchbag
Superstars get payed to tweet about products, Superstars hiring ppl to tweet for them – yes, the scenario where a famous singer get serious money to tweet about a big company product and then hire a wannabe media intern to do it for for them can actully accour – and it does. My source? I dont need one. I can write whatever I want, or hire someone to do it for me..

Just when I lost my faith in humanity and the Internet
And then, suddenly the the storm Sandy arrived. Right from the start I could see a growing trend on twitter under the tag #sandy. From the mothership in Sweden I could follow the storm in real time, live on twitter with real people, as it all unfolded.
This time twitter was updated for and by the little people. Not the “new media”, not the politicians and and not the superstars. Yes they all tried “own it” when they figured out what was happening on #sandy but by then it was to late – the people had allready moved on with their lives and only Donald Trump was still there.

The tag #Sandy was for a moment the communication outlet for everyone and even when ppl lost their power they could keep contact with the outside world and eachother. Twitter was like the emergency radio for smartphones. Anyone could get on the channel, both regular people and authorities, and for a short period of time the Internet was used as it was envisioned back in the day. You know when most of you were still in dipers and dinosaurs roamed the earth..

I was about to write something mean about twitter.

Twitter is still a playground for new media, politicians and academics. All trying to hide behind and “own” the debate under their obscure tags no one but themselves understand.

But for a brief moment during the storm, twitter belonged to the people

[Edit] I just found this article by David Carr, media and culture columnist for The New York Times. He says this much better than me. I really recommend the read.

Leave a Reply

