Things that “might have been” and things that “became”… Part III

Starting with this blogpost, I decided to list the top 5 songs that really meant something to me over the years since I was a young boy. Songs I even remember where I was and what I did when I heard them the first time. I decided to do this for the sake of my daughter to read when Im dead so maybe (I wish) she can take care of thoose original vinyl recordings and treat them with the respect they deserve and know the reason why she should.

This is for you honey – Dad

Cream – SWLABR (Spotify link)
This is a record I stole from my father’s neighbors… I was about 12-13 years old. Below my father’s apartment lived two very strange guys. One was a guitar player (whom I later became friends with) and the other one some academic who lost he’s way during endless studies at the university. They rented and shared an apartment owned by my father. There were always parties with lot of strange people; this was during the mid 70’s. I could come and go as I pleased and listen to whatever records I wanted. During the years to follow I even learned a lot of guitar licks from them both. I lerned a lot of other stuff too.. But I wont go into that subject here.. (If your mother’s still alive, go ask here… – Dad)

One day I found a strange looking record…
It was pink and orange with lot of strange pictures and patterns.  I just picked out a random track, I think mostly cuz the name of the song (SWLABR) sounded so crazy. The cracked, squeaky sound of Eric Claptons guitar during the first seconds had me hooked right away The soft voice of Jack Bruce and the jazzy hard drums by Ginger Baker framed it all perfectly. The guitar solo was amazing. Two guitar tracks evenly panned out in left/right mono to create the illusion of stereo. Pure magic. I simply had to have it so I stole it…

Transforming the shape of rock music
Recorded in New York, ‘Disraeli Gears’ was Cream’s breakthrough in America, cementing their superstar status. according to Q magazine, the second album from the original super-group of Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker “was a huge, Top 5 success on both sides of the Atlantic, transforming the shape of rock music, which still draws deeply on its power-trio innovations”.

Please don’t sell it !
Later I realized Cream was actually one of the (if not the first) real hard rock band.
The Album “Disraeli Gears” taught me that that you could record almost anything and anywhere as long as the song or the band itself was strong enough. Some of my own bands best recordings are still from 20 years ago, done live, or live in Studio.

(Honey, you will find this original vinyl from 1967 framed behind glass somewhere with all my guitars and stuff. It’s worth quite a lot of money and in mint condition. Please don’t sell it – Dad)

Leave a Reply

