ASUS Padfone 2 – 13 mega-pixel camera for the Instagram junkie

I promised some sample pictures from the camera earlier. First of all, I’m no expert at photography at all. I use my phone for fast instagram pictures and family photos of the kids that ends up on facebook. With that said, the 13 mega-pixel camera is probably more than I need. It has a lot of software filters and it’s pretty easy to get some cool effects if you are a “Insta-Junkie“. The “HDR” filter can get you some pretty cool pictures when the lighting is good enough too.

Screenshot_2013-03-14-21-33-34
13 mega-pixel camera for the Instagram junkie

No dedicated camera button
There’s no dedicated camera button, but you can use the volume button for still shots (however there’s no two-step pre-focusing). Personally I’m addicted to just pressing on the screen where I want focus to fire of a shoot – and it can handle that to if you like. However, as with most mobile phone cameras,  you require patience for a sharp focus and steady shots. Not my strong suite..

This feature is an absolute must for any serious parent
One feature worth mentioning is the 100 continuous shots at 6 fps in full 13-megapixel resolution (The Galaxy S III can handle eight megapixels, capped at 20 shots at 3.3 fps for comparison). By holding the shutter pressed down, you can take a stream of pictures and then choose the best one’s to save. This feature is an absolute must for any serious parent out there! Without it most of my pictures end up with half a blurry leg walking out of frame when trying to get a picture of my kids.

Screenshot_2013-03-14-22-43-47
100 continuous shots at 6 fps in full 13-megapixel resolution

Don’t take my word for it –  judge for yourself.
Overall it feels like the PadFone 2 delivers less noise and more detail, but when it comes to low light and nighttime performance it falls short compared to the Lumia 920.
Most of the cameras out there are no match for the Padfone 2 when it comes to mega-pixels (when I write this, things will change in 3 seconds..).

Sure there others cameras out there “just as good”, but to be honest I would say the S3 are “just as good” and the Lumia 920 handles lighting better. But don’t take my word for it –  judge for yourself.

I tried to gather some sample pictures below from different situations during my last week. Click to se original.

2013-02-28 19.41.55
Night time is the right time

2013-02-25 14.26.13
less noise and more detail

2013-03-12 12.44.51
This is Angela, a two year old parrot

2013-03-12 12.57.04
Some moving  swimming targets

2013-03-14 11.42.49
Can you see the ASUS booth at Dustin Expo?

As usual, please drop me a line if you want me to test anything special. I like to connect with booth machines  and people 🙂

One thought on “ASUS Padfone 2 – 13 mega-pixel camera for the Instagram junkie

  1. Pingback: 4 weeks with the ASUS PadFone 2 | /Blackmoore

Leave a Reply

