4 weeks with the ASUS PadFone 2

WP_20130228_003

Four weeks ago I decided to change my phone and tablet for the 2 in 1 solution from ASUS – the PadFone 2. Not only was this to be a change of one gadget for another, but a complete change of echo system. Over the past weeks I have tried to answer questions here on the blog, on forums, twitter, facebook and by mail. The result of that (and my own continuous use of the PadFone 2) has resulted in reviews, guides and tips.I even made some new friends in the process.

This is my sum up of the past four weeks with the ASUS Padfone 2 in a new and scary echo system.. Can a windows guy go “Android”?

This is what I came from
20130320_150819

  • ASUS TF600 Tablet
  • Nokia Lumia 920
  • Windows 8 RT, Windows Phone
  • Windows Live

This is what I had to convert to
WP_20130221_024

  • ASUS PadFone 2 “2 in 1” tablet solution
  • ASUS Padfone 2 Phone
  • Android 4.1
  • Google

So how did it go? Many of my friends were skeptic. As it turned out they were wrong. Android is so mature now a days that it’s very easy to keep on using the services you’re used to – in my case Skydrive, Windows Live, OneNote. Having a phone that docked into a tablet was a bit unusual at first but after just a couple of days it was like I had been doing it for years – It was that intuitive, and fast. Docking and undocking is just like sliding your phone in and out of your jeans.

A personal fear of mine was that I would miss the keyboard – but discovering the Swift Key app solved all that. To see it learn my spelling style and what words I use and prefer automatic from twitter, facebook, sms etc. was like pure magic!
I don’t need a keyboard as long as I’m not trying to replace my laptop – and I’m not.

Carry around your own computing power All I can say after four weeks are: the Padfone 2 is the ultimate mobile solution, and I’m totally convinced that the 2 in 1 concept will pretty much be standard in the future. Most of us will carry around our own computing power and dock it into different screens depending on our needs for the moment.

One the absolute most popular posts during these past four weeks was my video of how a full day of mine with the PadFone 2 looked like. I hope you have as much fun watching it like I had doing it. If you missed it be sure to check out “One full day with the ASUS PadFone 2“: https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/one-day-with-padfone-2/

WP_20130222_066

A very, very powerful Phone
When it comes to “horsepower” there’s really not much to say. The PadFone 2 is both a very powerful phone and a powerful tablet.  Compared to other flagship smartphones that are available right now in store, it’s right up there. The Padfone 2 is one of the most powerful phones you can buy today.

Unboxing the ASUS PadFone 2
https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/unboxing-the-asus-padfone-2/

Check out my in depth review of the ASUS PadFone 2 here
https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/asus-padfone-2-review/

Fast Bootup tech
When it comes to software there some pretty cool features you don’t want to miss:
The Fast Bootup for instance, that makes your phone boot in under 4 seconds (I shit you not!) If you have a hard time believing it, just check out my video of it below

ASUS Padfone 2 – Fast Bootup
https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/asus-padfone-2-fast-bootup/

WP_20130310_004

Customized settings
You can find the rest of the ASUS settings and software features the article below, this will get you in the know with features like PadFone charging Policys, how to enforce MHL output etc. https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/padfone-2-asus-customized-settings/

The 13 Mega-pixel camera
The 13 mega-pixel camera can certainly hold it’s own against the Lumia 920. What it might lack in hardware, it wins back in software in the end. If you like to take photos, use Instagram, share them on facebook the Padfone 2 won’t disappoint. And can it get any more awesome than sliding your phone into a tablet to show of your images seconds later?

Read more about the camera and judge the result for yourself from a couple of sample images https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/asus-padfone-2-13-mega-pixel-camera-for-the-instagram-junkie/

WP_20130221_034

Streaming mediaplayer
As a tablet it might not be the most powerful device you can get your hands on, but you probably won’t look at a “2 in 1” if you want the most powerful tablet. It’s not bad at all though. Streaming from Netflix, watching HD movies from a media server is nothing for this badboy.

Check out some PadFone 2 “extreme” streaming both full HD from a server and running Netflix https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/padfone-2-extreme-streaming/

Dynamic display technology
How cool is it to just slide your phone out of the tablet and continue watching that movie? Pretty cool if you ask me. The feature making this possible is the dynamic display tech, that ASUS makes good use of in the PadFone 2

Check out how the ASUS PadFone 2 Dynamic display technology works
https://blackmoore.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/padfone-2-and-the-dynamic-display-technology/

A big thank you to everyone who read, contacted me, wrote comments and hanged with me on various android forums. Android has a great community and the PadFone 2 is a really great device.

So the big question, can a windows guy go “Android”?
Without a doubt YES. And with the PadFone 2 you can do it in style.

/Mattias

A special thx to all the nice people at Padfoneclub.com, this is were you will find the truly dedicated Padfone 2 users. Lot’s of tips and tricks here and most important – lot’s of love. Please come and hang out http://www.padfoneclub.com/news.php

21 thoughts on “4 weeks with the ASUS PadFone 2

  1. Pingback: 4 weeks with PadFone 2 - Android Forums

  2. I have a little question concerning SwiftKey on the Padfone 2, do you use the tablet version or the smartphone version ? Does one of these versions work on the padfone only and on the padfone with the station or have I to buy them both ?

    And thanks for the blog, it convinced me to buy the Padfone 2 (I will receive it tomorrow 🙂 )

  3. After looking at these on the internet i was interested in how these might work out, now after reading your review and watching a couple of your videos i have now just ordered one on a 24 month contract, i think it may just be the first device i actually have for the full time of the contracf xD, cheers mate, uv made my mind up for me 🙂 great read keep em coming 🙂

    Sent from my windows 8 lumia 620 soon to be a asus padfone 2 (big grin) 😀

  4. Wow thanks for that awesome review of the Padfone 2. Now I have virtually no qualms about purchasing the Padfone Infinity. Only thing stopping me now is the price.

  5. Hey Whitest0rm. Great to hear and I’m happy you like my review. I came from a Lumia 920 myself. The lack of apps finally swayed me over back to Android. I still use my Lumia but only for work. I hope you get everything you hope for. I had no problems so far with the Padfone or any of my ASUS products so far.

  6. Hi there Joshua!
    Yes the price is still a little high. However it replaces both a tablet and a phone, and with that in mind I felt it was worth it. Seeing that I now use it 24/7 like both a mediaplayer and a phone i feel it has payed for itself allready.

  7. Ive seen a lot of comments on forums about problems regarding the phone… how are u coming up or experiencing any of those?

  8. Hi Roy and sorry for the late answer!
    No problems at all so far. Both the tablet and the phone works 100% ok. In my opinion forums tend to give voice only to the negative. If you like the concept I say go for it!

  9. Pingback: Do you still use your Padfone 2? | /Blackmoore

  10. What a de javu, i have same issues i replace my Iconia and lumia 920 with a padfone and dont regret about it after installing the entire microsoft software such as onenote, lync, and skydrive
    Good review blackmoore

  11. Hii man!!
    Great review, but I have one question for you.
    On PadfoneClub, and many other forums, people complain about camera dust problem.
    Do you have the same problem ?

    Thanks and best regards.

  12. Sorry I didn’t write all of my post in first massage.
    So, do you have any problem with camera dust, display scratches or overheating?

    Thanks and best regards.

  13. Hey Combe, thx for reading my review.
    Camera dust – none. Can’t see how it’s even possible with every piece sealed so tight it almost feels like it’s built out of one piece.
    Display scratches – none. And my padfone goes in and out of my jeans pocket all day. But none. I handle my phone with care ofc. Never drop it and I don’t put my keys in the same pocket – just use plain sense and I can’t see how you could scratch it really.
    Overheating – yeah sometimes it get’s a bit warmer. I haven’t seen this as a big problem myself as it’s very rare for me. Same problem can bee seen on the Lumia 920 to.

  14. Thanks man!
    I just ordered this phone, and hope to be satisfied.
    Before this phone, I had Galaxy S4.
    It has problem with overheating, and I was unhappy.
    It’s overheat even I just browsing or watching video.

    Thanks man for your reply.
    Big regards 🙂

  15. I hope you like it. Personally I prefer the padfone before the GS4 easy. Only phone so far that I really would like to try out against the PF2 is the HTC One. I hope to test them later this fall

  16. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to
    read far more from you. This is really a great site.

Leave a comment